





1ST CONFERENCE ON INDIGENOUS LANGUAGES (COIL-1)

21-23, February, 2019

Centre for Endangered Language Studies, IIT Patna Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, IIT Patna Department of Pali (Nava Nalanda Mahavihara) Central Institute of Indian Languages, Mysore

Announcement and Call for Papers

We are pleased to announce that the Centre for Endangered Language Studies (IIT Patna) and the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences (IIT Patna) jointly with the Department of Pali (Nava Nalanda Mahavihara, Nalanda) and CIIL, Mysore will host the 1st Conference on Indigenous Languages (COIL- 1). Abstracts have been invited for oral and poster presentations on substantial, original and unpublished research with particular focus on indigenous and endangered languages and linguistic applications relevant to South Asia. We are instating "Panini" lecture to be delivered by a prominent linguist working primarily in the areas of indigenous and endangered languages as well as minority languages. This is the first organized Linguistics conference series that is being launched in joint collaboration of prominent institutes of Bihar to address the issues of linguistic ecology and language sustenance in Bihar and adjoining states.

Paper Topics:

The areas of interest include, but are not limited to, the following (alphabetically sorted):

Anthropological Linguistics

Culture and Identity Endangered languages and Vitality Folklore, Myth and Oral Tradition Heritage Language Knowledge in Indigenous Languages Language and Storytelling Language Documentation Language Ecology Language Shift Language Sustenance Minority Language and Literature Policy and Planning for protecting indigenous languages Translation

Key Note Speaker: Prof. Shailendra Singh (NEHU)

Panini Lecture: Prof. S. Imtiaz Hasnain (AMU)

Plenary Speakers: Prof. Shreesh Chaudhary (Former Professor, IIT Madras)

Dr. Rajesh Kumar (IIT Madras)

Submission Guidelines:

The participants are requested to submit an anonymous abstract of no more than 300 words on any of the themes mentioned above to facilitate blind review. A separate word file consisting of author details and title should be sent as a separate attachment. Authors may submit no more than one individual or one joint (co-authored) proposal (ONLY ONE ABSTRACT PER AUTHOR). More than one entry will be rejected. Abstracts have to be submitted at linguisticsiitp@gmail.com.

Important Dates:

Abstract submission deadline: January 25, 2019

Notification of acceptance: February 5, 2019

Conference: February 21-23, 2019

Awards:Certificate for Best Presentation will be awarded to student presenters.Certificate for Outstanding Upcoming Researcher

Registration Fee:

- 1. Faculties and Industry participant- INR 3100.00
- 2. M.Phil and PhD research scholars- INR 2600.00
- 3. Masters and Undergraduate students- INR 2100.00
- 4. Foreign Nationals- USD 100.00
- 5. On the spot registration: INR 4000.00

Please note that accompanying person(s), if any, also have to register. Students must carry their institute id card during the conference.

Mode of payment of Registration Fee:

For Paper Presenters: Last date for paying Registration Fee (by Money Order / Bank transfer / DD: 10 February, 2019.

Mode of payment: Bank Transfer:

The fee may be sent by Bank Transfer into the bank account of the Conference, with a scanned copy of the payment receipt being sent to **linguisticsiitp@gmail.com**. The details of the bank account of the Conference are: Name of the Account: Registrar, IIT Patna Account Number: **30957551934** Name of the Bank: State Bank of India Name of the Branch: SBI, IIT Patna IFSC Code of the Branch: **SBIN0017164** MICR Code of the Bank and branch: 801002005 Swift code: **SBININBB156**

For persons coming from abroad:

Registration Fee (in Indian Rupees) may be paid in advance or through bank transfer.

Organizing Committees:

Patron: Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharyya, Director, IIT Patna

Conveners:

Dr. Smriti Singh (HSS, IIT Patna), Dr. Sweta Sinha (HSS, IIT Patna), Dr. Tariq Khan (CIIL) and Prof. Rajesh Ranjan (Nava Nalanda Mahavihara)

Advisory Committee

Prof. Shreesh Chaudhary (Former Professor, HSS, IIT M)

Dr. Mayank Tiwari (Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering), IIT Patna.

Dr. Pritam Kumar (Associate Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering), IIT Patna.

Dr. Nalin Bharti (Associate Professor, HSS, IIT Patna).

Scientific Committee:

Dr. Hemanga Dutta (EFLU) Dr. Atanu Saha (Jadavpur University) Dr. Kamal Chaudhary (IIT Ropar) Dr. Somdev Kar (IIT Ropar) Dr. Sudhanshu Shekhar (CUJ) Dr. Gopal Parihar (JNU) Dr. Hari Madhab Ray (JNU) Dr. Meiraba Takhellambam (Sikkim University) Dr. Barnali Chetia (IIIT Vadodara) Dr. Amitabh Vikram Dwivedi (SMVDU)

Contact:

0612-3028681; 0612-3028397 (during Office hours)

Address for all postal correspondence: COIL-1.

Programme Committee COIL- 1 Department of Humanities and Social Sciences Block 6, Floor 5. Indian Institute of Technology Patna Bihta, Patna, Bihar 801103

Note: Day 3 of the conference including Valedictory will be held in Nalanda at Nava Nalanda Mahavihara (Department of Pali).

The registration fee includes food, accommodation (for two nights) and travel from IIT Patna to Nalanda and back to Patna on Day 3 evening. Day 3 also includes anthropological excursion of the participants to the relics of Nalanda University.

T.A. may be reimbursed on the production of valid bills and tickets subject to the availability of funds.